August 13, 2020

EAC Passports: Rwandan Passports Become Invalid in June 2021

Trustworthy and indepth news stories are more important now than ever.
Support our newsroom by MAKING A CONTRIBUTION HERE
The EAC passport in its various forms

The immigration and emigration directorate announced Thursday that Rwandan passport holders have less than a year to use them.

Passports obtained before June 27, 2019, will no longer be valid after June 28 next year. Instead Rwandan travellers falling in this time bracket will be expected to show the East African Community (EAC) Passport.

The EAC bloc includes Rwanda, Burundi, Uganda, Tanzania, Kenya and South Sudan. The regional leaders adopted the EAC electronic passports planned they would begin to roll out on January 20, 2019, with the old passports to be phased out over a period of two years, and eventually become invalid after January 20, 2021.

To date, Kenya and Tanzania are already using the new generation EAC passport while the other states are at different stages of implementation, including Uganda that is still at the issuing stage since January 2019.

However, people who have successfully secured the new East African passport are very denied visas. This is because numerous countries say the passport has not yet been approved, and this has cost many visa applications. Some embassies still don’t issue visa to such passport holders.

For example, some European and north American embassies in Kenya, where many of them, which serve the region are located, say the new passport features are yet to be incorporated in the foreign immigration systems.

The 2019 index by Henley & Partners, a global citizenship and residence advisory firm, said last year that the EAC national passports were among the weakest in the world.

The Kenyan passport was ranked the most powerful in the region, at position 72, globally, followed by Tanzania’s at 73, Uganda’s at position 76, Rwanda’s at 84, Burundi 92 and South Sudan’s at 97.

With the EAC single passport, the region hopes that its citizens will be treated as one big bloc, and therefore open the region to uniform international travel regimes.

Already, three of the EAC members operate single entry visa for foreigners visiting Kenya, Rwanda and Uganda simultaneously. It is multi-entry within the three countries; however, this expires automatically if a traveler goes outside of the three (3) countries.

Rwanda began issuing the EAC electronic passport in June last year. It is got via the national online portal IREMBO.

The fee for the EAC passport dependents on the category. The categories include ordinary passport for minors valid for two years at Rwf25,000, ordinary 5-year passport with 50 pages at Rwf75,000, ordinary 10-year passport with 66 pages at Rwf100,000 , service passport with 5 year validity for Rwf15,000 and diplomatic passport at Rwf50,000. (Current exchange rate Rwf 954 to USD)

We can't do quality journalism without your support

Perhaps it goes without saying — but producing quality journalism isn't cheap. At a time when newsroom resources and revenue are declining, The Chronicles remains committed to "Serving Your Right To Know The Truth". Stand with us as we document Rwanda's remarkable journey for you and the future generation. Do you value our journalism? We can't do it without you. Show us with your support by CONTRIBUTING HERE.
Email your news TIPS to or WhatsApp +250788351327.
You can also find us on Signal


  1. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a coworker who was conducting a
    little research on this. And he actually ordered me breakfast due to the fact that I found it for him…

    lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!!
    But yeah, thanx for spending the time to discuss this subject here on your web page.

  2. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but
    after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

  3. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The words in your post seem to be running off the
    screen in Chrome. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with
    web browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to
    let you know. The design and style look great though!
    Hope you get the issue fixed soon. Thanks

  4. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer for your site.
    You have some really great articles and I think I would be a good asset.
    If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some
    material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please shoot me an email if interested. Many thanks!

  5. I cannot thank you enough for the wealth of knowledge and insights I’ve gained from this website. It has been instrumental in deepening my understanding and expanding my horizons. I appreciate the diverse range of topics covered and the depth of knowledge shared. Thank you for providing such a valuable resource for learning and growth. Thanks for the informations! ID : CMT-FUX20202GY01YOKAJK

  6. Hi my family member! I want to say that this post is amazing, nice written and include approximately
    all vital infos. I’d like to see more posts like this .

  7. You’ve made some good points there. I looked on the internet to find out more about the issue and found most individuals will go along with your views on this site.

  8. Hi, I do think this is a great site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m
    going to revisit yet again since i have saved as a
    favorite it. Money and freedom is the greatest way
    to change, may you be rich and continue to help others.

  9. Awesome site you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any community forums that cover the same topics discussed here?
    I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get suggestions from other knowledgeable individuals
    that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know.


  10. Hey there, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.

    When I look at your website in Ie, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, amazing blog!

  11. Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am inspired!
    Extremely helpful info specially the closing phase 🙂 I take care of such
    info much. I was seeking this certain info for a very long time.

    Thank you and best of luck.

  12. whoah this weblog is wonderful i like reading your
    articles. Stay up the great work! You realize, a lot of individuals are looking round for this info, you could aid them greatly.

  13. This is a great tip especially to those fresh to the blogosphere.
    Brief but very accurate info… Many thanks for sharing
    this one. A must read article!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *